Open the Alert Ticker
Town of Ahoskie
“The Only One”
Briefcase Icon
Money Icon
Money Icon
Government Icon
Auction Icon
Home » Town Government » Appointed Officials » Ahoskie Historical Commission

Ahoskie Historical Commission

Ahoskie Historic Preservation Commission:

Overview: The Historic Preservation Commission recommends design standards and guidelines for the Local Historic District to the Town Council. The Commission recommends areas to be designated in the Local Historic District to Town Council; and individual structures, buildings, sites, areas, or objects to be designated as Historic Landmarks. They also review and act upon requests for major work requiring a Certificate of Appropriateness (COAs) for alterations, demolitions, or new construction within the historic district. The Historic Preservation Commission also prepares and recommends the preservation element of the Town Comprehensive Long Range Plan.



  • Undertake an inventory of properties of historical, architectural, and/or cultural significance.
  • Recommend to the Town Council areas to be designated by ordinance as “Historic Districts”; and individual structures, buildings, sites, areas, or objects to be designated by ordinance as “Landmarks."
  • Acquire by any lawful means the fee or any other lesser included interest, including options to purchase, to properties within established districts or any other such properties designated as landmarks, to hold, manage, preserve, restore, and improve the same, and to exchange or dispose of the property by public or private sale, lease or otherwise, subject to covenants or other legally binding restrictions which will secure appropriate right to public access and promote the preservation of the property.
  • Restore, preserve, and operate historic properties.
  • Prepare and recommend the official adoption of a preservation element as part of the Town Comprehensive Long Range Plan.
  • Review and act upon proposals for alterations, demolitions, or new construction with historic districts, or for the alteration or demolition of designated landmarks, pursuant to this Section.
  • Recommend design guidelines to the Town Council.

Ahoskie Historic Preservation Commission Roster


Established 02/13/2007                                  Updated 07-20-2019                     1st Official Meeting 07/11/2007



                                                                                      Phone Number                    Term Expires

John Fritz (Chairman)

209 S. Catherine Creek Road

Ahoskie, NC  27910                                                            209-5455                              06-30-2020 


Tony Marra                                                                         

105 Clarendon Road

Ahoskie, NC  27910                                                            332-4911                              06-30-2021           marraemma@etwccom


W. Dan Joyner

107 Berkley Road

Ahoskie, NC 27910                                                             332-2507                              06-30-2020 


Betty Castelloe   

126 Arrow Road

Ahoskie, NC 27910                                                             209-7001                              06-30-2020


Quinton Turman

116 Main Street E

Ahoskie, NC 27910                                                             209-0870                              06-30-2020


Louis M. Velazquez

210 S. Williford Road

Ahoskie, NC 27910                                                             332-6844                              06-30-2020


Amy Braswell                                                                      

Vice-Executive Director

Ahoskie Chamber of Commerce                                           332-2042                              06-30-2021 

301 S. Catherine Creek Rd.

Ahoskie, NC 27910




Mayor – Jimmie Rowe

                137Albemarle Drive                                                                           

                 Ahoskie, NC  27910                                                            



Hertford County Economic                                              Town Manager – Kerry McDuffie

Development Director –                                                    P. O. Box 767

                                                                                         Ahoskie, NC  27910




Special Advisor

Jo Ann Williford

NC Office of Archives and History

4610 MailServiceCenter

Raleigh, NC  27699-4610                                             

Meeting Date – 4th Thursday of the Month at 6:00 p.m.