Of PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

January 9, 2025

Local Contact: Joleatha Chestnutt, townclerk@ahoskienc.gov, (252)332-5146

NLC Contact: media@nlc.org

National League of Cities Selects Mayor Weyling White and Councilman David Hunt for Centennial Under 40 Impact Award

Ahoskie, North Carolina Weyling White, Mayor and David Hunt, Councilman at the Town of Ahoskie has been named among the inaugural recipients of the National League of Cities' (NLC) Centennial Under 40 Impact Award. The award recognizes and celebrates the achievements of elected officials under the age of 40 from NLC member cities, towns and villages.

The winners were chosen from a competitive pool of nominees and are recognized for their outstanding contributions to public service, governance, and community development. These dynamic leaders are shaping the future of local governance, demonstrating excellence through impactful initiatives, and fostering positive change in their communities.

"These incredible young leaders embody the spirit of innovation and dedication that defines the National League of Cities," said Dr. Robert Blaine, Senior Executive & Director of NLC's Center for Leadership, Education, Advancement & Development. "Their work is not only inspiring but also vital to addressing the challenges and opportunities facing our cities today. As NLC enters its second century, it is leaders like these that will guide the next 100 years of growth for both NLC and our country."

Mayor Weyling White's deep-rooted commitment to his community is a testament to his lifelong connection to the people and places that shaped him. Born and raised in Ahoskie, North Carolina, he has always viewed his neighbors as family. A product of Hertford County Public Schools and a proud alumnus of Winston-Salem State University, Mayor White earned a B.S. degree and became an active member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated laying the foundation for a life dedicated to service and leadership. His academic journey continued as he earned a Master of Business Administration in Healthcare Management from the University of Phoenix, further honing his skills to serve his community.

After graduation, Mayor White returned home to Ahoskie with a clear mission: to use his education and expertise to improve the lives of those around him. His career in healthcare has had a transformative impact on the residents of this area. He played a key role in establishing the TRIP program, which still provides free transportation to medical appointments for underserved residents.

Mayor White's dedication to public health earned him national recognition in 2017 as the Emerging Leader in Healthcare Transformation by Communities Joined in Action. His leadership continued to gain traction, leading to appointments to the North Carolina Institute of Medicine and selection as a Bernstein Health Leadership Fellow in 2019.

A graduate of both the North Carolina Rural Center's Rural Economic Development Institute (Class XXV) and Leadership North Carolina (Class XXVI), Mayor White is a dedicated advocate for rural communities. He currently serves as Chair of the Hertford Health Maintenance Alliance, where he leads efforts to enhance health outcomes in the area. In addition to this role, he contributes his expertise to several boards, including the North Carolinians Against Gun Violence, North Carolina Rural Center, Choanoke Public Transportation Authority, and the Health Improvement Advisory Council for the Kate B. Reynolds Charitable Trust. In 2023, he was appointed by Governor Roy Cooper to the North Carolina Forestry Advisory Council.

Mayor White's leadership is defined by a vision of a healthier, more prosperous future for his community, built on the values of service, collaboration, and deep personal commitment.

His proudest accomplishment has been returning to his hometown to make an impact in his community and his greatest joy is being a father.

David D. Hunt Sr. Ahoskie Council Member (At Large)

As a lifelong resident of Hertford County, David Hunt Sr proudly serves as an Ahoskie Council Member, advocating for the interests of his community. As a devoted husband and father of two beautiful children, Council-Member Hunt cherishes his roots and remains committed to representing Ahoskie at all levels.

Council-Member Hunt is honored and considers it a privilege to have a seat at the table, where he is the voice for citizens in Ahoskie. His advocacy extends to various boards, including the National League of Cities-Small Cities Council, and the North Carolina League of Municipalities Legislative Policy Committee. Locally, Council-Member Hunt engages with the Mid East Commission, serves on the Hertford County Economic Development Board, and chairs the Hertford County Planning and Zoning Board. Additionally, Council-Member Hunt proudly serves as Vice President of the Hertford County NAACP Branch 5403.

Council Member Hunt is dedicated to ensuring that the voices and concerns of citizens in Ahoskie are heard and acted upon through transparency and honesty. Together, he and the citizens of Ahoskie believe they will continue to Restore, Reform, and Rebuild their community for a brighter future.

The winners were announced during the NLC's Centennial City Summit in Tampa, Florida, on November 13. This premier annual event gathers municipal officials and

industry leaders from across the country to celebrate achievements and explore solutions to key issues facing municipal leaders.

Full List of Centennial Under 40 Impact Award Winners:

Mayor M. Joseph Abu-Ghannam Morgantown, WV

Councilmember Daniel Arriola Tracy, CA

Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Adam Bazaldua Dallas, TX

Mayor Justin Bibb Cleveland, OH

Mayor Pro Tem Priya Bhat-Patel Carlsbad, CA

Mayor Preston Blakely Fletcher, NC

Councilmember Anika Bowie St. Paul, MN

Councilmember Thomas "Trey" Brownfield Slidell, LA

Councilmember Aditi Bussells Columbia, SC

Mayor Robert Cantelmo Ithica, NY

Councilmember Radiant Cordero Honolulu, HI

Mayor Steven Eisenbeisz Sitka, Alaska

Councilmember Angel Encinas Chandler, AZ

Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Junior Ezeonu Grand Prairie, TX

Councilmember Vanessa Fuentes Austin, TX

Councilmember Grace Elena Garner Palm Springs, GA

Councilmember Emmanuel Guerrero Pasadena, TX

Mayor Pro Tem Jessica Daniels Harrison Zebulon, NC

Council President Logan Heley Overland Park, KS

Representative Cassandra Hernandez El Paso, TX

Councilmember Dustin Hillis Atlanta, GA

Councilmember Khara House Flagstaff, AZ

Councilmember David Hunt Ahoskie, NC

Commissioner Daniela Jean North Miami Beach, FL

Councilmember Marché Johnson Montgomery, AL

Councilmember Saura Jost St. Paul, MN

Councilmember Micah McCarey

Athens, GA

Mayor Nadia Mohamed St. Louis Park, MN

Councilmember Devin Murphy

Pinole, CA

Mayor Pro Tem Gabrielle Nelson Port Wentworth, GA

Vice Mayor Ryan Paisley Clayton, DE

Mayor Javier Perea Sunland Park, NM

Commissioner Albert Polk IV South Bay, FL

Councilmember Eliazar A. Posada Jr. Carrboro, NC

Councilmember Sumbul Siddiqui Cambridge, MA

Councilmember Crystal Smitherman Birmingham, AL

Mayor Sheng Thao Oakland, CA

Councilmember Ashley Vanorny Cedar Rapids, IA

Councilmember Terry Vo Nashville, TN

Councilmember Peter Volosin

Roanoke, VA

Mayor Courtney Welch Emeryville, CA

Mayor Weyling White Ahoskie, NC

Councilmember Vince Workman Burnsville, MN

Mayor Michelle Wu Boston, MA

Councilmember Zack Zappone

Spokane, WA



